Mayor and Commissioners

The City of Canton has a City Manager form of government. The City has nine city commissioners who serve three-year terms. At the first meeting each May, the commissioners select a commissioner to serve as mayor. Commission meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month. If City Hall is closed due to a holiday, the meeting will be held the following Tuesday. The meetings are held in the Viking Room (lower level) of the Canton Depot at 600 West Fifth Street. The meetings are scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

Brian Alden

Farrell Anderson

Sarah Carlson

Shelly Eich

Richard Ekle

Eric Smart

Sara Steffensen

Kristen Townsend

Steve Ziebarth – Mayor

Canton is a community that has so much to offer for those who want small town living with the benefits of being minutes away from Sioux Falls. Though I have had the opportunity to travel across this country and abroad, there is no other place on Earth I could consider calling home. I would invite anyone who is looking for a place to call home to visit Canton and see for yourself what wonderful place this is to live, work and play.

Previous Canton Mayor Charles Smith

Advisory Boards & Commissions

Coming Soon!